Aside

Rewind Part II

One other BIG thing happened over the past six months. 

I got my first “real” job. 

After changing my major, I had to figure out what the heck I was going to do once I graduated. This was no easy task. Psychology is so broad; there are almost too many options. So, there I was. Stuck figuring out what at least my next step would be. 

Luckily there were plenty of things that I enjoyed doing. I liked higher ed; I liked non-profit work; I liked kids. After talking to several wise people I realized how much I liked ResLife. Thus began the job search (dun dun dunnnn).

So I searched. And applied. And searched some more. And finally, I got a phone a call. And then another…Long story short, I ended up at Truman State University as a Hall Director. 

I started my job in July with almost two whole months devoted to training. I learned a lot, met a lot of people, and tried my darnedest to prepare myself for when students arrived. And while I was mostly prepared, I couldn’t have imagined how everything would play out. 

It’s been almost four months since I started and I can honestly say that I enjoy where I am. I have the best staff (more on them another time). Our residents are pretty stinking awesome. And, I have met some pretty great people.

I am sure over the course of the next year there will be many times where I talk about work. So, I don’t want to give it all away now, just know I will get more details later.

Peace and Blessings.

Days to go: 362

Leave a Reply

