A Good Read…

And a quick one at that.

Every once in awhile I find an author that I can’t get enough of. Mitch Albom is one of them. This journalist turned novelist has style like I have never seen.

Short chapters (almost vignettes), multiple narrators, and intricate details define his writings. Albom is most well known for some of his earlier works such as The Five People You Meet In Heaven and For One More Day.

But, about a month ago his newest novel, The Time Keeper, was released. I saw it at a local book store and bought it the next day. And then read it within 24 hours. It is that good. 

The basic premise of the novel is that Father Time has the opportunity go be granted freedom from his lonely cave by helping two people. One, a teenage girl; the other, a dying old man. One of the two wishes for more time, while the other wants their time to be over.

I don’t want to give too much of the novel away, in hopes that some of you may be inspired to read it. It is an easy read. Don’t let that fool you though, it is pretty thought provoking.

It is books like this that inspire me to be a better writer. Albom has the ability to write profound thoughts in a down-to-earth tone. His writings also always cause me to really examine parts of my life. The Time Keeper forced me to evaluate my use of time and why at times all I do is ask for more or less time. And why I spend so much time thinking about time without realizing it.

All that to say, The Time Keeper is a great read. I would definitely recommend it. 

Peace and Blessings

Days To Go: 354 (I doubled up on 356)

Leave a Reply

