A Year Ago Today…

Something unexpected happened.

A year ago today, my grandpa passed away.

No one expected that to happen, but it did. And the 48 hours after it did were a total blur. 

I have thought about what I wanted to say in this post for the last week. I wanted at least part of this week to be a series of thoughts and ideas about my grandpa. But, this first post has continued to stump me. Maybe I just have no way of introducing my thoughts. Who knows.

I just got off the phone with my grandma. And she said something that stuck with me, “This is the last of the firsts.” I like that idea. I don’t know if it makes processing this easier, but it helps for at least now.

Over the course of the past year I have thought a lot about things that I learned from my grandpa, things he taught my parents that they taught me, and just thinking of all the memories I have with him. 

Throughout the past week I have been caught up in several pictures of my grandpa and I. And I would like to share them.

Image

Image

Image

I have appreciated looking at all of these pictures. There is one picture that I have not been able to find that I hope to find and share with you all soon. 

But, since I can’t find that one, this one also continues to get me every time:

Image

That’s all I have for today. Like I said, this is a series. Over the next few days expect some good stuff. At least, I hope it will be good. There were several moments that I wanted to talk about, one post just wouldn’t suffice.

Peace and Blessings.

Leave a Reply

