It’s Okay To Laugh…

Especially after a couple very serious blog posts.

For those of you who don’t already know, the Swingle family is not necessarily what you would call a “normal” family. But, if you ask any of us, we wouldn’t want to be any different than who we are. We have some pride, that is for sure.

Last year for my grandpa’s service, one of my cousins created a movie full of pictures of my grandpa’s life. The movie was set to some of my grandpa’s favorite songs. Each of them holds a special place in my heart. In fact I don’t think I have stopped listening to the O, Brother Where Art Thou soundtrack all week.

But, there is another song that I can’t help but think of Grandpa every time I hear. If you are Swingle, you probably know exactly what you are about to listen to. If not…well listen up:

You can’t tell me that you didn’t laugh. I know you did. And so did we; a year ago. Even though we were all devastated, every time we heard this song we would laugh through tears.

This song embodies who my grandpa was and the place he has in our hearts. He was just a happy, funny guy who loved all of us.

I remember someone saying last year that the service we held for my grandpa was anything but traditional.  But, I couldn’t have imagined it any other way. He wasn’t a traditional guy, and that is something I love about him. He taught me that it is okay to not be traditional; to be me, and no one else.

This song reminded us to laugh even when we didn’t want to. This song reminded us that Grandpa wouldn’t have wanted us to be upset. He would have wanted our family to remember the good times we were blessed to have with him and to keep being who he had taught us to be.

And, even though this song makes me tear up on occasion, I can’t help but laugh while I listen. And that is a beautiful thing.

Peace and Blessings

Leave a Reply

