78 Short Hours…

That ended way too soon.

This weekend, I had the pleasure of traveling to Pittsburgh, PA for the NACURH 2013 Conference. This is an annual conference held for students involved in the Residence Hall Associations of universities across the country. Friday afternoon, 10 of us jumped in a few vans and our adventure began.

I had no idea what to expect; I had never been to the east, and I had never been to a NACURH Conference. What I found when I finally got there far exceeded my expectations.

To start, Pitt’s campus is absolutely beautiful. As in, the most beautiful college campus I have ever stepped foot on. From the historic buildings, to the landscaping, everything was pretty much perfect.

ImageA Chapel on Pitt’s Campus.

ImageThe Cathedral of Learning, which is the tallest academic building in the Western Hemisphere.

ImageA view of Pitt’s campus from the 37th floor of the Cathedral of Learning.

ImageLooks a little like Hogwarts, huh?

It was in those buildings that students and advisors (me) sat in sessions. The sessions I sat in on were about how to better my advising techniques. Sessions ranged from the pretty basic, normal presentations, to learning how to advise the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (yes…you read that correctly). I also learned about various programming ideas to bring back to campus, one of which I will be blogging about soon!

Now, don’t be fooled, it wasn’t all seriousness while I was there. I did find two dinosaurs during our little adventures…that’s right dinosaurs:

Image

Image

I broke a world record with the entire conference. What record, you ask? The NACURH 2013 attendees broke the record for the longest synchronized robot dance on Saturday night!

And finally, I met some pretty spectacular professionals in my field. Ranging from new to veterans in student affairs, the folks I met were encouraging, down-to-earth, and stinking hilarious. I don’t think I have ever laughed so much on a bus.

The past weekend was a complete whirlwind of adventure, learning, and fun. I had a blast, and was also reminded how much I like adventures, learning, and meeting new people. Here’s to more of all three of those things soon.

Peace and Blessings

Leave a Reply

